Kenya announces squad for Punta Umbría 2011 and Capetown 2011

Punta Umbria 2011 logo (
The Athletics Kenya (AK) has selected the team to represent Kenya at the IAAF World Cross Country Championships in Punta Umbría, Spain on 20 March 2011.

However Kenya's four world cross country champions, who all failed to qualify on Saturday for this year's championships, misses out.

Joseph Ebuya, who won the men's title last year, failed to finish as did the women's title holder Emily Chebet while junior champions Caleb Mwangangi and Mercy Cherono finished down the field.

Kenya team

Senior Men (12km)
1. Geoffrey Mutai
2. Matthew Kisorio
3. Vincent Kiprop

Senior Women (8km)
1. Linet Masai
2. Vivian Cheruiyot
3. Prisca Jepteling

Junior Men (8km)
1. Isaiah Koech
2. Justin Cheruiyot
3. Philemon Yator

Junior Women (6km)
1. Janet Kisia
2. Jepkorir Kipkoech
3. Faith Chepngetich

Meanwhile, Paul Tanui leads Kenyan team for the African XC Championships to be held on March 6 in Cape Town, RSA. Others are Stephen Kiprotich, John Mwangangi and Philip Kiprono. Making up the women´s 8 km team are: Pauline Njeri, Doris Changeiywo, Viola Kibiwott and Grace Momanyi.

Popular posts from this blog

Results of the 2011 African Junior Athletics Championships in Gaborone

Upsets expected at 2017 Athletics South Africa Senior Championships in Potchefstroom